For Reasons Unknown: A gripping crime debut that keeps you guessing until the last page (DCI Matilda Darke, Book 1)

For Reasons Unknown: A gripping crime debut that keeps you guessing until the last page (DCI Matilda Darke, Book 1)

Michael Wood

Language: English

Pages: 244

ISBN: B010L6L3NK

Format: PDF / Kindle (mobi) / ePub


Two murders. Twenty years. Now the killer is back for more…

A darkly compelling debut crime novel. The start of a brilliant series, perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, Val McDermid, and James Oswald.

DCI Matilda Darke has returned to work after a nine month absence. A shadow of her former self, she is tasked with re-opening a cold case: the terrifyingly brutal murders of Miranda and Stefan Harkness. The only witness was their eleven-year-old son, Jonathan, who was too deeply traumatized to speak a word.

Then a dead body is discovered, and the investigation leads back to Matilda's case. Suddenly the past and present converge, and it seems a killer may have come back for more…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

directly in front of the victim. ‘Stick to the plates, please,’ she said as Hales, now suited up, entered the mouth of the alley. She then stepped forward, surveying the surrounding area before looking down at the victim. She took a deep breath and then pulled the mask up over her mouth and nose. Hales was not kidding; he looked like he’d been through a blender. ‘I think it’s safe to say he was killed here,’ she said, pointing at the frozen globules of blood on the walls. She lifted up the

but he was content with his lot. He just wished people would leave him alone to get on with it and stop trying to rake up the past. Despite having only an hour’s sleep, he was dressed and ready to leave the flat for work at eight o’clock. As usual he was smartly turned out in his black trousers and shoes and a freshly laundered Waterstones’ shirt. His hair was bland but neatly trimmed and brushed forward; he didn’t use any fancy products. He spent time putting on his coat, scarf, and gloves,

sad. You can actually see it on his face.’ ‘I can see it on your face too sometimes. You get a look. It’s like you’re here but you’re not here.’ ‘He has the same look.’ ‘That’s why you’re thinking about him a lot. He’s been like this for twenty years. You’ve been like this for almost one. You think you’re going to end up like him.’ ‘Maybe.’ ‘You’re not though. You have me and you have Chris, and your parents and your sister, when she remembers to call.’ ‘Jonathan’s in his early thirties,

had been ready to eat an hour ago but was keeping warm on a very low heat. The once bubbling cheese had dried into a thick brown crust. She slammed the oven door closed, picked up the bowl of curling lettuce and practically threw it into the fridge. Maun didn’t know if she was angry at the wasted meal, the fact Jonathan was late home, or that she didn’t have a clue what was going on in his life any more. Since the news of his childhood home being demolished hit the press he had been more

the glass up in a black bin liner and it’s in the bins around the back. There was a metal frame. That should still be at the side of the bins.’ ‘OK. I’ll need your clothes from the night you were attacked.’ ‘They’re in the laundry basket in the bathroom. I can’t remember if I had changed out of my uniform or not. It’s a bit of a blur.’ He rubbed his tired eyes and ran his bony fingers through his tangled hair. ‘That’s OK. I’ll take a look. If you just want to get a few essentials, and I’ll

Download sample

Download